dry sump/breather question..........

From famous pros to weekend warriors, our friendly members will help answer your tech questions.
User avatar
Big Erik
Posts: 643
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2007 2:31 pm
Location: Geneseo IL

dry sump/breather question..........

Postby Big Erik » Thu Dec 27, 2007 10:20 am

Guys,
I am switching to a true dry sump setup this winter, i have run a barnes in the pan 'dry sump" setup for a few years and it works fine but i am going to the full 3 stage moroso dry sump setup I already got all the stuff.my question is this..I do not run a vacuum pump and I currently have two jaz breather/catch tanks one plumbed to each valve cover with a #12 an line as engine breathers it seems to work okay.......now my dad runs the same dry sump setup i just got and also a vac pump.he doesn't run any breathers. cept the vac pump one.......on mine I will still have to have the breather system right???.........I know most guys run a vac pump setup too and probably should but........... :roll: ERIK
I'm everything they say i am......I'm so bad......Baby i don't care!!!

art d
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Oct 07, 2006 3:54 pm

Postby art d » Wed Jan 02, 2008 5:09 pm

I would make sure I have a breather on the dry sump system itself. It has to vented to allow the pump to pull the oil.
Art

User avatar
Big Erik
Posts: 643
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2007 2:31 pm
Location: Geneseo IL

Postby Big Erik » Thu Jan 03, 2008 5:13 pm

thanks for the reply, the oil tank has a breather tank made onto it with a breather on it.my question is, is this sufficient or do i have to run the valve cover breathers too??....it is already setup with the two tanks and lines to the covers from how i ran it before so thats not a big deal just do not want to puke oil all over or something stupid like that......ERIK
I'm everything they say i am......I'm so bad......Baby i don't care!!!

greenracing
Posts: 782
Joined: Thu Mar 02, 2006 12:50 pm
Location: NE Ohio

Postby greenracing » Fri Jan 04, 2008 8:44 am

You should be fine Erik. The dry sump will pull some vacuum - not as much as a vacuum pump of course, but some - so theoretically you won't need as much breather as you had on the covers. But since you're not running a vacuum, you'll need some - so I'd leave them the way you had them. (after re-reading that - I'm not sure I made any sense... :roll: )You could probably run the supply tank breather out to the same puke tank - but if it's got a built in breather - that's cool.

Sounds like you're good to go... :)


Return to “Tech Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest