tax time

From famous pros to weekend warriors, our friendly members will help answer your tech questions.
gary b
tax time

Postby gary b » Tue Feb 26, 2008 7:52 pm

not your normal tech but when does your hobby (racing) become a busieness tired of pay taxes on winnings and having no deductions. just venting steam. but there has to be a definition out there but no one can tell me what it is not even the irs. if your not a million dollar team its not a business thanks broke dad

draglist
Site Admin

Postby draglist » Tue Feb 26, 2008 11:26 pm

I'm not a tax expert, but I did discuss this type of thing when I was first setting up the two corporations I've owned (including the current Bilden Enterprises, Inc., which is the umbrella organization for Draglist and other stuff).

What the IRS is going to look at is whether you have a reasonable expectation of making a profit in any business. So there are a few ways to go with this. High dollar bracket racers may be able to make the case based on the potential returns they can earn. Same with pro racers.

Using your car as an advertising medium and attempting to set it up as a business for that reason may work. I don't know for sure, but I'm guessing that many of the top dollar alcohol cars out there and other sportsman cars that have their owners' business names on the sides are probably writing off some of their expenses as advertising costs.

There are one or two books I've seen over the years about the tax implications of race cars, but I can't point you to one right now.

Good luck with this... bp
Bill Pratt
Draglist.com - Crowdsourced drag racing history.
Headlines and Results: http://www.draglist.com/
Drag Lists: http://www.draglist.com/draglist/draglist.php

pro70z28

Postby pro70z28 » Tue Feb 26, 2008 11:29 pm